Major Announcements at the 2017 IIHF Congress

The annual IIHF Congress took place this year in Cologne, Germany to decide the future of international hockey in the coming years. We’d like to remind you quickly how this year’s World Tournaments ended. The current world champions are the Swedish men’s team and the United States for women’s. Both teams played against Canada and won on May 21, 2017, and March 31, 2017, respectively. It seems that 2017 wasn’t Canada’s best year. Now, let’s see what major announcements were made.

Venues for the 2018 IIHF World Championship

They established the venues for next year’s IIHF World Tournaments. Great Britain’s Men team go to Budapest, Hungary to play in the Division 1 Group A on 22-28 April 2018. Their adversaries will be Hungary, Italy, Slovenia, Poland and Kazakhstan.

The Division 1 Group B games will be held in Kaunas, Lithuania in the same period. The participants are Romania, Ukraine, Japan, Estonia, Croatia, and Lithuania.

The Women GB team goes to Bled, Slovenia to play in the Division 2 Group A on 7-13 April 2018. GB will go against Australia, Netherlands, DPR Korea, Slovenia, Mexico and Netherlands.

As for Division 2 Group B, the games will take place in Madrid, Spain between New Zealand, Spain, Israel, DPRK, Mexico and Luxembourg.

The GB U20 Men face Estonia, Romania, Japan, Netherlands and Korea in the UK on 10-16 December 2017. These teams play in Division 2 Group A.

As for GB’s U18 teams, the men will travel to Tallinn, Estonia on 1-7 April 2018 while the women go to Krynica, Poland. The U18 Men team plays in Division 2 Group A against Estonia, Korea, Lithuania, Poland, and Australia while the women will face China, Denmark, Australia, France and Poland.

2021 IIHF World Championship Venues

The Congress awarded the 2021 World Championship to the joint bid of Belarus and Latvia.  The games will be held in the city capitals: Minsk and Riga, respectively. Each of these cities was the hosts of IIHF World Championship in the past:  Minsk in 2014 and Riga in 2006. Their joint bid won against the Finnish cities of Helsinki and Tampere who will be the host of the 2022 IIHF World Championship. Also, Beijing will be the host of the 2022 Winter Olympic Games on 4-20 February.

Other announcements

If you want to check out next year’s games, the full calendar of the 2018 World Championship is already available. Men’s matches will be hosted in Denmark, Hungary, Lithuania, Spain, South Africa, Netherlands and the UAE, while women will go to France, Italy, Slovenia, Bulgaria and Spain. Stay tuned for the latest news about the IIHF.

Leave a Comment